Latest News


2021 Philanthropy Report 

Read about how alumni and corporate partners support students and ease their financial worries. There are also stories about new scholarships that are increasing the number of underrepresented students on campus, including women, African American and Hispanic students, and students on the spectrum.

Horsepower to Hyperloops is Kettering University's official podcast.

Horsepower to Hyperloops Podcast

Learn about groundbreaking ideas, noteworthy advancements and the latest developments in mobility, technology, medicine and many other fields.

Campus News Briefs

Robot Society Initiates Three New Members

Robot Society Initiates Three New Members

The Robot Society initiated two new student members and one new honorary staff member Sept. 15.

The Robot Honor Society recognizes students and staff for their outstanding creative leadership, service that transcends self and citizenship that demonstrates responsibility. Students and staff go through a highly selective process conducted by their peers, staff and faculty.

Congratulations to new student members Tanisha Francis ('25, CE) and Madison Wright ('22, Applied Mathematics) and new honorary staff member Wesley Thornburg, Lead Custodian in Custodial and Grounds.

 Alpha Pi Mu 2022

Alpha Pi Mu Initiates Three New Members

Alpha Pi Mu, the Industrial Engineering honor society, initiated three new members during an in-person and virtual ceremony Sept. 15.

To qualify for membership, students must be in the top 20% of their junior class or top 33% of their senior class and exhibit positive character traits.

Congratulations to Marco Pacifico ('25, IE), Dominic Tiseo ('24, IE) and Chelsea Walters ('22, IE).

Kettering University students Hemanth Tadepalli and Kevin Patterson

Students Represent Kettering at Automotive Conference

Hemanth Tadepalli ('23, CS) and Kevin Patterson ('24, EE) represented Kettering University at the 2022 Center for Automotive Research in Traverse City.

Industry leaders gave presentations and participated in panels about the future of the global automotive industry at the conference, which was Aug. 2-4.

Tadepalli and Patterson had the opportunity to speak with C-Suite executives from major automotive and technology companies such as Ford Motor Company, Aptiv, BorgWarner, Deloitte, McKinsey & Company, Google Cloud, Waymo and many more.

Using his experience in the cybersecurity industry, Tadepalli was happy to share his insights and learned more about the latest technologies and strategies being developed to mitigate cyber attacks in organizations as well as in vehicles.

Patterson was excited to tap into his experience in the mechanical and electrical industry to share his insights about vehicle brakes.

Kristy Brinker Brouwer

Professor Kristy Brinker Brouwer Presents at International Conference

Mechanical Engineering Professor Kristy Brinker Brouwer presented at the 20th International Conference on Renewable Energies and Power Quality (ICREPQ'22) in Vigo, Spain, on July 28.

ICREPQ is an annual conference that creates an opportunity for academics, scientists, engineers, manufacturers and users from around the world to come together to discuss recent developments in the areas of renewable energies and power quality.

Brouwer presented "Cryptocurrency and its Effect on the Electric Grid," which was authored by Paul Resch ('21, ME), Cruz Schroeder ('22, ME), Mechanical Engineering Professor Ahmad Pourmovahed and Brouwer. The paper will be published in the September 2022 edition of the "Renewable Energy and Power Quality Journal" ISSN 2172-038 X, Volume No. 20.