Institutional Accreditation

Kettering University is fully accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). In July 2014, the HLC continued our accreditation through 2023-24.  In 2017, the HLC’s 4-Year Comprehensive Evaluation determined that Kettering met all Criteria for Accreditation and fulfilled all U.S. Department of Education requirements.

In November 2023, the Higher Learning Commission will carry out a 10-year Comprehensive Evaluation at Kettering University.  A team of peer reviewers appointed by the HLC will evaluate whether the institution meets the Criteria for Accreditation and other HLC requirements, is pursuing institutional improvement, and complies with requirements set by the U.S. Department of Education.


2017 Year 4 Comprehensive Evaluation

In September 2017, the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) conducted a Year 4 Comprehensive Evaluation at Kettering, a standard requirement that includes an assurance report (previously known as a self-study) and a campus visit.  The Commission’s 11/13/2017 Final Report on that evaluation may be found here.

Kettering University has been accredited since 1962 by the Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604, (800) 621-7440 and (312) 263-0456.

Accreditation Documents


Dr. Robert K. McMahan, President
Dr. McMahan oversees all institutional accreditation at the University.

Dr. James Z. Zhang, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Dr. Zhang oversees all program accreditation at the University.

Ms. Betsy Homsher, Special Assistant to the President
Ms. Homsher serves as the Accreditation Liaison Officer to the Higher Learning Commission and is second in the line of communication with the HLC (after the President) regarding policies, practices and other institutional accreditation matters. She also disseminates information and answers questions within Kettering about HLC accreditation.

Dr. Kathryn Svinarich, Associate Provost for Assessment & Academic Support and Interim Dean, College of Sciences & Liberal Arts
Dr. Svinarich provides critical assessment leadership to the University, serves as the chair of the University Committee on Accreditation & Assessment and is responsible for establishing and supporting a process of institution-wide continual self-evaluation and improvement.


University Committee
on Accreditation
& Assessment

The University Committee on Accreditation & Assessment (UCAA) provides critical assessment leadership to the University and is responsible for establishing and supporting a process of institution-wide continual self-evaluation and improvement. The committee oversees and assists academic and administrative units in conducting ongoing assessment activities with the goal of improving retention and graduation, student learning, student development and University services/operations. It operates transparently and engages stakeholders from across the institution.

The UCAA has the following charge:

  • Define and lead the implementation of university institutional effectiveness assessment policies and procedures
  • Oversee and review the adequacy and timeliness of academic program reviews and unit assessment results
  • Provide a comprehensive annual report to the President documenting strengths and weaknesses of the University’s overall effort in assessment and institutional effectiveness.
  • Provide guidance to the President and the Cabinet on ways to effectively link assessment of University Learning Outcomes and the co-op experience to planning and budgeting.

The UCAA committee is chaired by Dr. Kathryn Svinarich (810-762-7949) or

Program Accreditation

The following programs are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET:

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Engineering Physics
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering

More About ABET

The following program is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET:

  • Computer Science

More About ABET

The following program is accredited by the Applied Science Accreditation Commission (ASAC) of ABET:

  • Applied Physics

More About ABET

The Business program was accredited in 1995 by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), 11520 West 119th Street, Overland Parks, KS 66213.

More About ACBSP