Dr. James E.A. John honored

Nov 24, 2004

Kettering's president has been named the 21st Distinguished Citizen by the Tall Pine Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

Kettering President Dr. James E.A. John has been chosen the Distinguished Citizen for 2004 by the Tall Pine Council of the Boy Scouts of America. He will receive the award at a dinner in his honor Nov. 30 at Warwick Hills Country Club in Grand Blanc, Mich.

"The purpose of the award is to recognize special citizens who best exemplify the ideals of scouting and who have made a difference in the tri-county area served by the Tall Pine Council," said John Schlobohm, finance director for the council.

John was chosen for his leadership at Kettering resulting in physical growth and improvements to the campus and surrounding area, for establishing outreach programs for women and minority students, and for his ten-year support of the Tall Pine Council's Explorers program.

"I have always been pleased to work with the Tall Pine Council," said John. "Their goals and aspirations are very similar to those of Kettering University's. Specifically, we are both interested in enhancing the career potential of young people."

Past recipients of the Tall Pine Council Distinguished Citizen Award include former Kettering President Dr. William Cottingham, president from 1976 to 1991.

The complete list of recipients includes:
Joseph Anderson
John Wilson
Dr. William Cottingham
Bill Piper
Al Kessel
Lloyd Reuss
Harding Mott
Jack Hamady
Helen Philpott
Jack Ennest
Ruth Mott
Dr. Arthur Tuuri
Charles Weeks
Dorothy Reynolds
William White
Dr. Fleming Barbour
Rev. Avery Aldridge
Jan Tannehill
Ed Kurtz
Hank Graff

Written by Dawn Hibbard
(810) 762-9865