Commencement is Dec. 13, 2008

Dec 1, 2008

Kettering President Stan Liberty, the University's sixth president, will offer the Commencement address when Kettering University hosts graduation ceremonies at 11 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 13, in the Connie and Jim John Recreation Center.

Kettering President Stan Liberty, the University’s sixth president, will offer the Commencement address when Kettering University hosts graduation ceremonies at 11 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 13, in the Connie and Jim John Recreation Center. 

Kettering will graduate 311 undergraduate and 58 master’s candidates during graduation services.  About 204 undergraduates and 25 graduate students are expected to march at the ceremonies.  There will be no honorary degrees presented in December. 

University President Stan Liberty will preside.  

Undergraduate student speakers will be Mario Flores and Nichole Fabisiak, both graduating with degrees in Mechanical Engineering. 

Here are the highlights of the upcoming ceremony:

  • Saturday, Dec. 13, 2008, 11 a.m. (EST)
  • Connie and Jim John Recreation Center 
  • No tickets required to attend Commencement 
  • Allow 1 1/2 hours for the ceremony 
  • Presiding: Kettering University President Stan Liberty
  • Grand Marshal: Dr. Henry Kowalski of Mechanical Engineering
  • Parking is free and available in all campus parking lots 
  • Information center will be located on the 1st floor of the CC (outside BJ's Lounge, behind the elevators) from 8:30 - 10:45 a.m.
  • There is no graduation rehearsal
  • Total graduates: 311 undergraduates, 58 master’s candidates 
  • Graduates expecting to march: 204 undergraduates, 25 graduate 
  • Expected number of guests: 1,600 
  • Faculty will host a light breakfast in the International Room, Fifth Floor of the Campus Center, 8:30-10 a.m. 
  • Recreation Center doors open at 9 a.m. for visitors to arrive and be seated 
  • Faculty and staff members assemble for the Processional between 10-10:55 a.m. in the Third Floor, Recreation Center 
  • Graduates assemble on the first floor of the Campus Center (just outside BJ's Lounge) between 10:30-10:55 a.m.  
  • Formal processional begins at 11 a.m.


Summa Cum Laude (97.0-100): 5
Magna Cum Laude (94.5-96.9): 21
Cum Laude (92-94.4): 45

Joey Campbell
Mario Flores
Lisa Hiller
Kennet Mangus
Shana Paciocco

Monica Denis
Mario Flores
Serena Lynch
Brittany Murty
Shana Paciocco
Matthew Schwartz

Bachelor's Degrees:
Applied Physics, 2
Computer Engineering, 11
Computer Science, 8
Electrical Engineering, 40
Industrial Engineering, 22
Management, 14
Mechanical Engineering, 206
Dual Applied Physics/Electrical Engineering, 1
Dual Computer Engineering/Computer Science, 1
Dual Computer Engineering/Electrical Engineering, 1
Dual Computer Science/Computer Engineering, 1
Dual Electrical Engineering/Mechanical Engineering, 2
Dual Industrial Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, 1
Dual Mechanical Engineering and Applied Physics, 1
BACHELOR'S TOTAL = 311 (September and December 2008)

Master's Degrees
Engineering, 11
Engineering Management, 4
Manufacturing Management, 5
Manufacturing Operations, 19
MBA, 8
Operations Management, 10
Dual Operations Management and Manufacturing Management, 1
MASTER'S TOTAL = 58 (September and December 2008)

The Outstanding Thesis Award winner for Fall 2008 is Zachary J. Rivest. He received his degree in Mechanical Engineering. His thesis title is: "Nominal Gages for Prototype Builds and Nominal Gage Positioning, which was written for General Motors Manufacturing Engineering & Quality in Warren. A patent application has been made for his work. He grew up in Burton, Michigan, and graduated from Kearsley High School.


HOTELS/RESTAURANTS: Contact the Flint Area Convention and Visitors Bureau: 1-800-24-FLINT or (810) 232-2211.

CAN WE HELP? 1-800-955-4464, ext. 9585, or 810-762-9585. 

Written by Patricia Mroczek