Travel Restrictions and Status

As part of the University’s commitment to the safety of its community, the University has established the following travel-related restrictions and guidelines effective March 16, 2020 and until further notice:

  • All University-sponsored travel for faculty, staff and students to countries outside the U.S. is cancelled regardless of the state of planning or the nature of any commitments made in support of that travel. Previously issued approvals for any travel falling under this exclusion will be rescinded.
  • These restrictions also apply to all in-transit travel through affected locations.
  • Any student, faculty or staff member planning future University-related travel overseas (irrespective of CDC status) must follow existing approval processes as outlined by the Office of International Programs (OIP), observing any temporary restrictions imposed by the University, even those applied after plans have been made and confirmed.
  • All University-sponsored visits by individuals, including visiting scholars and students, originating in or travelling through a listed country must be cancelled and rescheduled. This applies to all visits and visit types regardless of the stage of planning.
  • Any student, faculty or staff member who has returned from outside the U.S. within the last four weeks or who has been exposed to someone who has traveled to one of those locations should contact the Office of International Programs for specific instructions.
  • All University-related non-essential domestic air travel is prohibited. We strongly urge extreme caution and judgment when considering  personal domestic travel.

While Kettering’s policies do not regulate personal or non-University-sponsored travel, they do regulate the conditions upon which individuals will be allowed to return to campus afterward. All members of the community planning to travel internationally are strongly urged to carefully consider their travel plans.

  • Any faculty or staff member engaging in personal travel to or from outside the U.S. (1) is required to report that travel to the Office of International Programs prior to departure and (2) will be required to self-quarantine in a University prescribed manner for a minimum of 14 days before they will be permitted to return to campus.
  • Faculty and staff are directed to consider limiting discretionary domestic travel until further notice, including conference travel.
  • Students are strongly encouraged to avoid personal travel to these areas as well.
  • Students who do choose to undertake such travel will be required to self-quarantine in a University prescribed manner for a minimum of 14 days before being permitted to return to campus.

The European Travel Ban - The Specifics

  • The ban begins Friday, March 13, 2020  at 11:59 p.m. U.S. eastern time.
  • The initial period of the ban is 30 days.
  • The ban covers the 26 European countries in the Schengen zone — Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Who is Covered by the Ban?

  • The Executive order reads "All aliens who were physically present within the Schengen Area during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States"

Who, What, Where is excluded from the ban?

  • U.S. citizens and permanent residents and their families, health professionals that are part of  efforts to combat the spread of the virus, diplomats and air or sea crew.
  • The U.K. and Ireland are excluded.
  • Cargo and trade goods

Can I travel to the UK or Canada and then to the US?

  • Only if your time in transit is longer than 2 weeks.