Prima Prize 2008

Nov 19, 2008

TEAM was the focus of the prestigious Prima Prize for Best Research Paper in Leadership and Ethics.

Nicholas Leja ’08, of Milford, is the 2008 winner of Kettering University's Prima Prize for Best Research Paper in Leadership and Ethics. The award is conferred through the Department of Liberal Studies and made possible by the sponsorship of Prima Communications Inc., of Schoolcraft, Mich.                

The winning paperwas selected from all research papers submitted to the Senior Seminar in Leadership, Ethics, and Contemporary Issues in the 2007-08 academic year, and was chosen by a panel of eight judges, consisting of Senior Seminar instructors and Charlotte Hubbard '83, president and CEO of Prima Communications.

The program is coordinated by Dr. Michael Callahan, professor of Liberal Studies, and carries a $300 award for the winning paper.

The Prima Prize was awarded to Leja for his paper, "An Ethical Review of TEAM."  Leja graduated in September and is currently working for Monarch Franchisers, Inc.

Two honorable mention awards were conferred: one to Shana Paciocco ’08, of Canton,Mich., for her paper "Investigation of Friendly Fire Over Iraq," and the other to Nathaniel Byrne ’08, of Columbia Station, Ohio, for his paper "An Evaluation of the Government’s Roles and Responsibilities in the Ethics of Nanotechnology." They each received $100 for honorable mention papers.

Leja, Paciocco and Byrne were recognized at a ceremony Nov. 18 in the Humanities Art Center, where Leja presented a summary of his paper.   

The Prima Prize was established by Charlotte Hubbard '83. Prima Communications is the first corporate sponsor of a program focused on leadership and ethics in the Liberal Studies program at Kettering.

"Kettering University greatly appreciates the establishment and continuations of the Prima Prize. Ms. Hubbard's interest in, and commitment to, Kettering and our students is awesome," said Dennis Washington, vice president for University Advancement. "We hope it will encourage more alumni to recognize excellence in our students through such gifts," he added.

Written by Dawn Hibbard