June 2010 Commencement

Jun 12, 2010

More than 350 graduates were honored during June Commencement, that featured addresses by Provost Michael Harris and Undergraduate Student Speaker Sumit Kamboj.

“Savor the day” Kettering University graduates were told on June 12 when the University  hosted Commencement ceremonies for 358 graduates.

Dr. Michael Harris, Ketteringprovost and vice president for Academic Affairs, presented his farewell to the University during the Commencement Address.  He leaves Kettering at the end of June to become Chancellor of Indiana University - Kokomo.  Harris served as Kettering’s chief academic officer and was responsible for the University’s academic life, including faculty and students from 2007-2010.  He championed several important initiatives during his time on campus, ranging from the Swedish Biogas project to new international recruitment efforts, from international professional development programs to Entrepreneurship Across the Curriculum.  Read about his accomplishments at: http://www.kettering.edu/visitors/storydetail.jsp?storynum=3011

Kettering graduated 273 undergraduate and 85 master’s candidates.  University President Stan Liberty presided and Dr. Karen Palmer, Faculty Senate Moderator, was the grand marshal.

Sumit Kamboj of Ann Arborserved as the undergraduate student speaker.  He earned bachelor’s degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science.  Top student honors included:

President’s Medal winners exemplify Kettering’s highest ideals of scholarship, leadership and citizenship and are:

Phillip Besoiu,Girard,OH,
John Holmen,Elyria,OH,
Caryn Homsher,Fremont,MI,
Bi Zan Valery Lorou,Indianapolis,IN.

Sobey Scholars exemplify outstanding scholarship and leadership and are:

Phillip Besoiu, Girard, OH,
Sumit Kamboj, Ann Arbor, MI,
Bi Zan Valery Lorou, Indianapolis, IN,
Lakithia Williams, Westland, MI.

Leaders Fellows demonstrate significant leadership potential, personal integrity and a commitment to the development of student leaders.  This term’s fellow is:

Lissett Garcia, El Paso, TX.

The Outstanding Thesis Award went to Amanda Andersen of Clarkston, MI.  The Biochemistry major’s thesis is “The Use of Gas Chromatography to Analyze Biogas Samples with a Focus on Process Management and Forensic Analysis.”  Her faculty advisor is Dr. Jennifer Aurandt of BioChemistry.