Honoring excellence

Oct 10, 2008

Kettering University recently recognized seven faculty members for outstanding teaching, research and citizenship at University Conference.

Kettering University honored seven faculty members for outstanding teaching, research and citizenship during the institution’s University Conference for employees in September. Provost Dr. Michael Harris congratulated the recipients and thanked members of the committee that made the recommendations to him. He indicated this is the first time that faculty recognitions have been based on recommendations submitted by a faculty committee. “Recognizing faculty for outstanding teaching, research and citizenship is a reflection of the entire faculty's commitment to academic excellence," said Harris. 

The seven honorees were:

Dr. Ilya Kudish, professor of Mathematics, who received the 2008 Rodes Professorship, for his project entitled, “Design of stable numerical methods for elastohydrodynamic lubrication.”  The Rodes Professorship honors Kettering faculty for breadth and depth of knowledge, commitment to diligence in terms of academic research, and leadership in developing and applying an area of knowledge, among other attributes.

The award includes a grant of $5,000 to provide the recipient with opportunity for continued professional development and a chance to disseminate the results of their research to Kettering students, alumni, University clubs, industrial groups and other colleges and universities.

Dr. Petros Gheresus, professor of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, who received the 2008 Faculty Distinguished Citizenship Award. This award is conferred upon a faculty member who serves the University through sustained engagement in activities such as leadership in departmental or university committees, participation in activities that contribute to the strategic mission of the university, activities that contribute to the recruitment, retention, and satisfaction of Kettering students, and performance in leadership positions in local, regional, state, national, and/or international professional organizations.



Three faculty won the 2008 Outstanding Teaching Awards:

Dr. Yuri Sikorski, assistant professor of Physics;

Dr. Stacy Seeley, interim head of Chemistry/Biochemistry and Pre-Med coordinator; and

Dr. Bassem Ramadan, professor of Mechanical Engineering.

The Outstanding Teaching Award honors faculty who have demonstrated outstanding teaching and support for students.


Dr. Peter Stanchev, professor of Computer Science, received the 2008 Outstanding Researcher Award for his substantial contributions to the area of medical imaging and multimedia systems recognized throughout the world.

Dr. Gianfranco DiGuiseppe, assistant professor of Mechanical Engineering, received the 2008 Outstanding New Researcher Award for his work in fuel cell research.

Dr. Ilya Kudish was also honored with the 2008 Distinguished Researcher Award for his contributions to the science of tribology and contact mechanics that are recognized worldwide.