Commencement photo album Dec. 2007

Dec 15, 2007

Final farewells, families and famous alumni all came together at the Dec. 15 Commencement ceremony.

Gary L. Cowger, group vice president of Global Manufacturing and Labor Relations at General Motors Corp. and a 1970 graduate, offered the Commencement address at the Kettering University graduation ceremony Dec. 15, in the Connie and Jim John Recreation Center.

Two honorary degrees were presented and 213 undergraduate and 59 master’s candidates graduated, with about 160 undergraduates and 36 graduate students marching in the ceremony. An honorary Doctor of Engineering degree was presented to Gary Cowger and an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree was presented to U.S. Congressman Dale E. Kildee (D-Flint)

Joseph Gallagher of Grand Rapids was the undergraduate student speaker. Other awards conferred include the President's Medal, Sobey Scholars, Leaders Fellows and Outstanding Thesis Award.

President’s Medalists:
President’s Medalists have exhibited extraordinary professionalism and job performance with a corporate sponsor; demonstrated outstanding scholarship; and made notable contributions to Kettering, Greater Flint, and their home communities.  The President’s Medal is one of the highest awards given to students.  The new recipients are:

  • Donald Burlock of Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Jessica Forman of Leonard, Mich. 
  • Joseph Gallagher of Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Alan Spohn of Westland, Mich.
  • Daniela Thompson of Waterford, Mich.

Sobey Scholars:
Named in honor of Albert Sobey, the founder and first president of this institution, Sobey Scholars exemplify outstanding scholarship and leadership.  Three new Sobey Scholars join the elite group:

  • Alan Spohn of Westland, Mich.
  • Daniela Thompson of Waterford, Mich.
  • Charles Ott of Conneaut Lake, Penn.

Leaders Fellows:
Leaders Fellows demonstrate significant leadership potential and personal integrity.  They also commit to perpetuating the development of Kettering students through their own post-baccalaureate involvement in the program.  The new Leaders Fellows class members are:

  • Samuel Cooper of Brunswick, Ohio
  • Jessica Forman of Leonard, Mich.
  • Joseph Gallagher of Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Kenneth Kayser of Flint, Mich.

Outstanding Thesis Award:
The recipient of the Outstanding Thesis Award has demonstrated excellence in the Senior Thesis, as designated by his Thesis Adviser, the Senior Thesis Committee and the Thesis Director.  The award went to Stephen F. Dawson of Burton, who graduated with a degree in Industrial Engineering.

His thesis titled, "Ergonomic Analysis of Sprains and Strains at Fernco, Inc." was written for Fernco, Inc. of Davison, Mich.  The award included a certificate of achievement and medallion, plus Stephen’s name will be placed on a plaque that hangs outside the Thesis Services office suite.  Stephen’s faculty adviser was Dr. Terri Lynch-Caris, associate professor of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering. The award’s medallion was designed and machined at Kettering University by Dan VanCura.