Student Award Winners

President's Medal
To be announced

Sobey Scholar
To be announced

Outstanding Thesis Award
To be announced

At a Glance

When & Where

  • Sunday, June 22, 2014
  • 11 am
  • Kettering University Campus
  • Luncheon reception following Commencement 


  • Graduating
  • bachelor’s degrees to be announced
  • master’s degrees to be announced
  • summa cum laude to be announced
  • magna cum laude to be announced
  • cum laude to be announced

Getting to Flint and Campus


1700 University Avenue
Flint, MI 48504-6214


Places to Stay

A variety of hotels and motels are located within a reasonable driving distance of the Kettering University campus and represent a range of amenities and rates.

Hotels/Motels list

Local Area Attractions

While visiting campus for commencement, you may wish to take advantage of some of the area attractions.


Commencement Speaker



David Kenny ’84 to deliver address at 2014 Kettering Commencement

David Kenny, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Weather Company, will deliver Kettering University’s commencement address on June 22 2014 at 11 a.m. on the grounds at Kettering University.

Kenny graduated in 1984 with an Industrial Administration (IA) degree from Kettering while completing his co-op experience at his hometown Oldsmobile Plant in Lansing. Upon graduating, Kenny enrolled at Harvard Business School where he completed his Masters in Business Administration.

In January 2012, Kenny was named the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Weather Company, where he oversees the portfolio of consumer and business-to-business weather brands and businesses including The Weather Channel, and WSI.

Kenny was born and raised in Lansing, Mich., and graduated from Lansing Eastern High School in 1979.

Click here for more information on David Kenny.


Graduation & Commencement Information


Commencement is the ceremony honoring degree candidates and those who have already received degrees. Commencement occurs in June each year.

Graduation is the actual awarding of a degree. Degrees are awarded after each term; March, June, September and December. The graduation and diploma date are always the last date of the graduating term.

Further questions or concerns regarding graduation may be directed to Becky Ibbotson, Coordinator, Registrar’s Office, at (810) 762-9587 or

Further questions or concerns regarding the commencement ceremony may be directed to Diane Alderson, Director of Special Events at (810) 762-9770 or

Commencement Facts

  • Kettering University Campus 
  • No tickets required to attend Commencement 
  • The event is free and open to the public
  • Allow 1 1/2 hours for the ceremony 
  • Presiding: Kettering University President Robert McMahan
  • Grand Marshal: Ada Cheng, Faculty Senate Moderator
  • Parking is free and available in all campus parking lots 
  • Information Center is in the Great Court, Campus Center, 8:30-10:45 a.m.
  • There is no graduation rehearsal
  • Faculty and staff assemble for the Processional between 10-10:55 a.m. in the third floor, Recreation Center 
  • Graduates assemble on the first floor of the Campus Center (just outside BJ's Lounge) between 10:30-10:55 a.m.  
  • Formal processional begins at 11 a.m.